Born in the Bootham area of York, England, he was a pupil at the prestigious Nunthorpe Grammar School, leaving at the age of 16 to join the British Army by lying about his age. Keen to be in on the wartime action, Whiting was attached to the 52nd Reconnaissance Regiment and by the age of 18 saw duty as a sergeant in France, Holland, Belgium and Germany in the latter stages of World War II. While still a soldier, he observed conflicts between the highest-ranking British and American generals which he would write about extensively in later years.

Charles Henry Whiting, author and military historian died on July 24 2007, leaving his wife and son.

The Search for ‘Gestapo’ Müller: The Man Without a Shadow

The Search for ‘Gestapo’ Müller: The Man Without a Shadow

An account of disappearance of Heinrich Müller, chief of Hitler’s Gestapo and a major Nazi war criminal, and the international efforts to bring him to justice.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Blood Mission (Stuka Squadron Thrillers Book 4)

Blood Mission (Stuka Squadron Thrillers Book 4)

Is it all over for the elite German squadron? Perfect for fans of David Beatty, John Wingate and Derek Robinson.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Tank-busters. (Stuka Squadron Thrillers Book 3)

Tank-busters. (Stuka Squadron Thrillers Book 3)

Join the German fighting aces as they take on the Soviets! Perfect for fans of David Beatty, John Wingate and Derek Robinson.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Hawks of Death (Stuka Squadron Thrillers Book 2)

Hawks of Death (Stuka Squadron Thrillers Book 2)

The elite German fighter pilots are back! Perfect for fans of David Beatty, John Wingate and Derek Robinson.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Black Knights (Stuka Squadron Thrillers Book 1

The Black Knights (Stuka Squadron Thrillers Book 1

The first book in a thrilling aviation war series! Perfect for fans of David Beatty, John Wingate and Derek Robinson.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Heydrich: Henchman of Death

Heydrich: Henchman of Death

A gripping biography chronicles the life of the man behind one of history’s most horrifying events: the Holocaust.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Bloody Aachen: The First German City Ever Besieged by the U.S. Army

Bloody Aachen: The First German City Ever Besieged by the U.S. Army

A fascinating account of the first German city ever besieged by the U.S. Army and the monumental battle that took place amongst its ruined walls.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Fire in the West (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 5)

Fire in the West (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 5)

The end of the war is in sight! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evans and Max Hennessy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Convoy To Catastrophe (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 4)

Convoy To Catastrophe (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 4)

Immerse yourself in war-time political strategy! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evans and Max Hennessy

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Flight to the Reich (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 3)

Flight to the Reich (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 3)

The war is intensifying for the German submariners! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evans and Max Hennessy

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Operation Death Watch (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 2)

Operation Death Watch (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 2)

It’s another deadly mission for the crew of U-69! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evans and Max Hennessy

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Wolf Pack (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 1)

The Wolf Pack (Submarine WWII Warfare Series Book 1)

The first book in a thrilling World War Two U-Boat naval adventure series! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evans and Max Hennessy

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The War in the Shadows

The War in the Shadows

An enthralling exposé of the spies who moved in the darkened dangerous back alleys of World War Two.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
48 Hours to Hammelburg

48 Hours to Hammelburg

The epic account of World War Two’s most disastrous rescue mission.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Long March on Rome

The Long March on Rome

A lively and highly readable study of the often-overlooked Italian Campaign, from the invasion of Sicily to the march on Rome.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Massacre at Malmedy

Massacre at Malmedy

The story of the most infamous massacre of American soldiers in World War Two.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Eyewitness to American History

Eyewitness to American History

History comes alive in these thirty-five vignettes from America’s past!

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Battle of the Bulge: Britain’s Untold Story

The Battle of the Bulge: Britain’s Untold Story

An eye-opening account of the forgotten involvement of British soldiers in the Battle of the Bulge.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
A Bridge at Arnhem

A Bridge at Arnhem

A blow-by-blow account of the epic Battle of Arnhem, the commanders who planned it and the units who paid for their mistakes.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
American Eagles: The 101st Airborne’s Assault on Fortress Europe 1944/45

American Eagles: The 101st Airborne’s Assault on Fortress Europe 1944/45

The thrilling true story of the U.S. 101st Airborne Division’s major operations during the European campaign of 1944/45.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Death on a Distant Frontier: A Lost Victory, 1944

Death on a Distant Frontier: A Lost Victory, 1944

“a provocative and stimulating addition to the study of World War II.” HistoryNet

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Bradley

Bradley

An enthralling biography of the tireless WWII infantry leader who became popularly known as ‘the G.I.’s General.’

More info →
Buy from Alibris
America’s Forgotten Army: The True Story of the U.S. Seventh Army in WWII

America’s Forgotten Army: The True Story of the U.S. Seventh Army in WWII

An enthralling account of the World War Two exploits of the U.S. Seventh Army, from Sicily to France to the final assault on Hitler’s mountain retreat, the Eagle’s Nest.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Operation Werewolf (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 6)

Operation Werewolf (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 6)

Author:
Series: Destroyers, Book 6
Genre: Action & Adventure

It’s the final showdown for the Destroyers! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evens and Max Hennessy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Operation Kill Ike (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 5)

Operation Kill Ike (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 5)

Author:
Series: Destroyers, Book 5
Genre: Action & Adventure

Explosive World War Two action! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evens and Max Hennessy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Operation Il Duce (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 4)

Operation Il Duce (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 4)

Author:
Series: Destroyers, Book 4
Genre: Action & Adventure

A heart-pounding World War Two thriller! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evens and Max Hennessy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
American Hero: The Life and Death of Audie Murphy

American Hero: The Life and Death of Audie Murphy

A captivating biography of America’s greatest soldier.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Operation Caucasian Fox (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 3)

Operation Caucasian Fox (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 3)

Author:
Series: Destroyers, Book 3
Genre: Action & Adventure

A red-hot military thriller set during World War Two! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evens and Max Hennessy

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Operation Stalag (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 2)

Operation Stalag (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 2)

Author:
Series: Destroyers, Book 3
Genre: Action & Adventure

A high-octane thriller set during World War Two! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evens and Max Hennessy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Operation Afrika (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 1)

Operation Afrika (Destroyers WWII Thriller Series Book 1)

Author:
Series: Destroyers, Book 1
Genres: Action & Adventure, Bargain Books

The first book in a thrilling World War Two military adventure series you won’t want to miss! Perfect for fans of David Beaty, Alan Evens and Max Hennessy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Massacre at Metz (T-Force Thriller Series Book 2)

Massacre at Metz (T-Force Thriller Series Book 2)

Author:
Series: T-Force
Genre: Action & Adventure

The elite US commandos are back! Perfect for fans of David Beatty, John Wingate and Derek Robinson.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Highway Through Hell  (T-Force Thriller Series Book 3)

Highway Through Hell (T-Force Thriller Series Book 3)

Author:
Series: T-Force
Genre: Action & Adventure

It’s another adventure for the T-Force commandos! Perfect for fans of David Beatty, John Wingate and Derek Robinson.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Last Mission (T-Force Thriller Series Book 4)

The Last Mission (T-Force Thriller Series Book 4)

Author:
Series: T-Force
Genre: Action & Adventure

The final adventure for the T-Force commandos! Perfect for fans of David Beatty, John Wingate and Derek Robinson.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial