John Wingate was born in 1920. He was a successful novelist with some twenty-five books to his credit. Many of these had a naval theme. Frequently involving the submarine service, they gained much authenticity from Wingate’s personal wartime experiences.

John was in the Battle of the Channel in a Chasseur and was mentioned in Dispatches. Then went into submarines based in the Mediterranean in Malta. He and his crew survived a 36 hour dive while being depth-charged. This was thought to be impossible at that time because of the build-up of carbon dioxide. He was awarded the DSC for that. After the war he went into market gardening until he was recalled to the Navy for the Korean Crisis in 1951.

He was based in Portsmouth for that. After that he started teaching in Sussex, and then Aysgarth Preparatory School near Bedale in Yorkshire. He taught there for 3 years and then went to Milton Abbey School in Dorset until he was asked to start Hampshire Activities Centre at Calshot. This was the first of its kind, and was a great success. It was opened by Prince Phillip. He retired from there and took up writing full time, eventually moving to France to live.

John sadly passed away in 2008.

Full Fathom Five (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #6)

Full Fathom Five (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #6)

Author:
Series: Submariner, Book 6
Genre: Action & Adventure

The final book in the thrilling Submariner Sinclair series! Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Douglas Reeman and Duncan Harding.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Sub-Zero (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #5)

Sub-Zero (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #5)

Author:
Series: Submariner, Book 5
Genre: Action & Adventure

Join Submariner Sinclair in another nautical adventure! Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Douglas Reeman and Duncan Harding.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Nuclear Captain (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #4)

Nuclear Captain (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #4)

Author:
Series: Submariner, Book 4
Genre: Action & Adventure

Submariner Sinclair is back in another thrilling adventure! Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Douglas Reeman and Duncan Harding.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Sinclair in Command (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #3)

Sinclair in Command (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #3)

Author:
Series: Submariner, Book 3
Genre: Action & Adventure

The third book in an action-packed series of nautical adventures starring Submariner Sinclair! Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Douglas Reeman and Duncan Harding.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Jimmy-the-One (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #2)

Jimmy-the-One (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #2)

Author:
Series: Submariner, Book 2
Genres: Action & Adventure, Bargain Books

The second book in an action-packed series of nautical adventures starring Submariner Sinclair! Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Douglas Reeman and Duncan Harding.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Submariner Sinclair (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #1)

Submariner Sinclair (The Submariner Sinclair Naval Thriller Series #1)

The first book in a thrilling series of nautical adventures! Perfect for fans of Dewey Lambdin, Clive Cussler, Douglas Reeman and Duncan Harding.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial