Tony describes himself as a writer and people’s historian. He was born in 1958, brought up in a working-class household in Salford and, having failed the 11 plus examination, educated at a secondary modern school for boys. He later graduated in modern history, has a master’s degree and a PhD. From 1980 to 2002 Tony worked as a schoolteacher then university lecturer (2002 – 2011). Now semi-retired, Tony lives in Ivybridge, south Devon. Apart from researching and writing Tony enjoys Dartmoor, the sea and sailing. And growing vegetables! He also likes spending time with his ever-expanding family.

When chief examiner of a large GCSE history examination syllabus, Tony made his first venture into writing. He has been writing professionally since then, with his first publication in 1997 – he still recalls vividly the thrill of it. His books reflect Tony’s deep interest in military history which clearly inspires his writing, though he does have ideas for writing contemporary fiction in the future.
On history and fiction, Tony’s thinks good history should be as entertaining as fiction and historical fiction should be as accurate as fact – with a note to the reader saying when it isn’t.

Get in touch

You can follow Tony on FacebookTwitter and TikTok. 

Bouncer’s Battle (Gus Beaumont Aviation Thrillers Book 1)

Bouncer’s Battle (Gus Beaumont Aviation Thrillers Book 1)

A brand new fighter pilot adventure series! For fans of Derek Robinson, James Holland, Frank Barnard and Jack Higgins.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial