The Quickening and the Dead (Charles Dickens Investigations #4)

Charles Dickens and Superintendent Jones are fighting crime once again! 

Order Now!
About the Book

Three girls, three deaths — but what connects them…?

London, 1850

Lavinia Gray vanishes on the eve of her wedding and is found drowned.

Evie Finch dies of septicaemia in a filthy lodging house.

Annie Deverall, a fifteen-year-old milliner’s apprentice is on remand in Newgate, accused of murdering the Doctor Lancelot Plume.

Three young girls’ lives have been ruined, but could they be connected somehow?

Charles Dickens visits Annie and is immediately convinced of her innocence. He enlists the help of Superintendent Sam Jones to find the real murderer before Annie goes to trial.

How are the three girls linked to Plume? And if Annie didn’t kill him, who did?

What Charles Dickens uncovers will shock him to his very core…

The Quickening and the Dead is the fourth urban mystery in J. C. Briggs’ literary historical series.

Order Now
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial