Valerie Holmes became a published author when she won Writing Magazine’s Annual Ghost Story Competition in 2002 with Three Squashed Pumpkins. Since then she has had over forty novellas published.

The majority of her historical romances/mysteries are set in the early nineteenth century in a time of dramatic social change and of war with France. Smuggling, espionage and press-gangs all add to the drama that the hero/heroine faces. Valerie’s work also includes contemporary titles. Two of her novellas were shortlisted for the category Romance Award by the Romantic Novelists’ Association. She literally ‘Loves the Adventure!’

Growing up in a coastal town on the edge of North Yorkshire, Valerie Holmes’ novella world often reflects her love of the dramatic beauty of North Yorkshire; an area where she enjoys both hiking and discovering its fascinating history.

She is an experienced creative writing tutor of distance learning courses who enjoys being able to encourage unpublished writers to move towards their dreams. Valerie also completes manuscript appraisals for the Romantic Novelists’ Association, New Writers’ Scheme. As a reader for the Historical Novel Society she reviews both adult and children’s books. She is a member of the Society of Authors, The Crime Writers’ Association, Historical Novel Society and the Romantic Novelists’ Association.

Get in touch with Valerie

You can check out Valerie’s website here and follow her on Facebook and Twitter.

For Richer, For Poorer (The Yorkshire Saga #2)

For Richer, For Poorer (The Yorkshire Saga #2)

Author:
Series: Yorkshire Saga, Book 2
Genre: Romance
Tags: historical fiction, romance

A Regency Romance with a sparky heroine! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
To Love, Honour and Obey (The Yorkshire Saga #1)

To Love, Honour and Obey (The Yorkshire Saga #1)

Regency England is under threat in this page-turning romantic adventure! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen.

More info →
Buy from Alibris