Lynne Reid Banks is the author of ten acclaimed adult novels as well as many much-loved books for children.

She was born in London in 1929, the only child of a Scottish doctor and an Irish actress. During WW2 she was evacuated to the prairies of Canada where she spent 5 years. After studying at RADA in the late 1940’s she became an actress and later joined ITN to become one of the first women TV news reporters in Britain. Her first novel, The L-Shaped Room, was published in 1960 and caused outrage in more conservative quarters for its portrayal of a an unmarried mother-to-be who is thrown out by her father and has to live in the L-shaped room of the title. The novel was later adapted for cinema by the legendary Bryan Forbes and brought great critical acclaim.

In the early 1960’s she went to live in a kibutz in Israel with her husband where she taught English. In 1971 she brought her family back to London where she continued to write for adults and children including her classic children’s novel, The Indian in the Cupboard which has sold more than 10 million copies worldwide and was made into a highly successful feature film.

In 2013 Lynne won the prestigious JM Barrie Award for her contribution to children’s arts.

Lynne has now written over forty five books and lives in Shepperton, England.

Get in touch

You check out Lynne’s books and her news on her website.

An End to Running

An End to Running

A dark and unpredictable love story. Perfect for fans of Ali Smith, Jeanette Winterson and Deborah Levy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Children at the Gate

Children at the Gate

A literary masterpiece from the author of The L-Shaped Room. Perfect for fans of Ali Smith, Jeanette Winterson and Deborah Levy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Warning Bell

The Warning Bell

A literary masterpiece from the bestselling author of The L-Shaped Room. Perfect for fans of Ali Smith, Jeanette Winterson and Deborah Levy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Fair Exchange

Fair Exchange

A thought-provoking novel from the author of The L-Shaped Room. Perfect for fans of Ali Smith, Jeanette Winterson and Deborah Levy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Path to the Silent Country (The Brontë Sisters Saga #2)

Path to the Silent Country (The Brontë Sisters Saga #2)

Path to the Silent Country is a thrilling fictionalised biography of Charlotte Brontë: beautifully written literary fiction set in nineteenth century Yorkshire.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Dark Quartet (The Brontë Sisters Saga #1)

Dark Quartet (The Brontë Sisters Saga #1)

Dark Quartet is a fictionalised biography of the Brontë sisters: beautifully written literary fiction set in nineteenth century Yorkshire revealing the real tragedies of the authors of the best-loved novels Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Casualties: Relationships are shattered after the trauma of WWII

Casualties: Relationships are shattered after the trauma of WWII

An unforgettable family saga. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial