The Warning Bell

A literary masterpiece from the bestselling author of The L-Shaped Room. Perfect for fans of Ali Smith, Jeanette Winterson and Deborah Levy.

Order Now!
About the Book

At each turning point in her life, Maggie heard the warning bells chime…

Scotland, 1950s

Depressed by her rural upbringing, Maggie Robertson dreams of leading the glamorous life of an actress in London. However, her father expects her to stay at home and learn to take care of the family.

When Maggie secretly gets a place at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, everything changes. And with each step towards adulthood, the warning bell of her conscience chimes.

Are friends and family worth sacrificing for her freedom? Will her own son become disposable on the road to success?

Maggie must decide how far she is willing to go to achieve her dreams…

The Warning Bell is a dramatic and moving saga of one women’s fight to achieve independence by Lynne Reid Banks. 

Order Now
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial