The Duke’s Agent (Raif Jarrett Regency Mystery #1)

An ex-soldier turns detective in this thrilling Regency read! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Andrew Taylor, S G MacLean and Antonia Hodgson.

Order Now!
About the Book

A threatening presence is stalking a provincial Northern town…

1811, England. Frederick Raif Jarrett has returned from battle and is seeking a quiet life as agent to the Duke of Penrith.

So when he is sent to the Durham town of Woolbridge to settle the affairs of one of the Duke’s tenants following his sudden death, the dangers of the Yorkshire countryside could not be more unexpected.

Jarrett begins to uncover a network of crime and corruption but is thwarted at every turn by the town’s powerful and much-feared magistrate, Mr. Justice Raistrick.

When a young woman dies in tragic and mysterious circumstances, Jarrett is accused of her murder and has to fight for his life as he desperately seeks to uncover the truth.

Is there a serial killer on the loose? Can Jarrett solve the case in time to clear his name?

And what about the whispering rumours of the sinister figure calling himself The Tallyman…?

The Duke’s Agent is the first book in the Raif Jarrett Regency Mystery series by Rebecca Jenkins.

Series: Raif Jarrett, Book 1
Genres: Crime Fiction & Thrillers, Historical Fiction
Tags: historical fiction, mystery
‘a splendid portrayal of an enterprising rogue’
– The Sunday Telegraph
‘a well-crafted, pacy tale with very strong, well-defined characters. It is not overloaded with historical detail, yet the flavour of Georgian England is always there. The author’s sure handling of descriptive prose brings the countryside vividly to life... I thoroughly enjoyed this book.'
– Historical Novel Society
Order Now
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial