A Conformable Wife

Another classic Regency romance from a master of the genre! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen.

Order Now!
About the Book

Two young people compete in the game of love…

1814, Bath

“I promise you, she’s the most delightful creature, with a quirky sense of humour very like your own. As for the other qualities you mention – birth, breeding, experience of managing a household of consequence – she has them all, with amiability and common sense besides!”

So Henrietta Melville is described to the Honourable Julian Aldwyn, who is on the look-out for a wife who will prove restful after an earlier, disastrous love-affair.

But there’s much more to Miss Melville than meets the eye. Although she is a spirited and intelligent heiress, at twenty-six and still unmarried, she’s considered to be on the shelf.

Julian is certain his offer will not be refused.

But then comes a whirlwind month in Bath, a dastardly rake, secrets from the past … all calculated to turn any woman’s head.

Could Henrietta become the conformable wife Julian is looking for? Or will someone else catch her eye…?

A Conformable Wife is a classic historical novel by Alice Chetwynd Ley.

Details
Order Now
Buy from Alibris