Shades of Death (Catrin Surovell Tudor Mysteries Book 1)

A new crime series set in Elizabethan England! For fans of S J Parris, Andrew Taylor, S W Perry and Andrew Swanston.

Order Now!
About the Book

Can two young ladies-in-waiting unmask a ruthless killer?


When Elizabeth Tudor first became queen, the realm rejoiced. Now, two years later, the queen has formed an attachment to Lord Robert Dudley that is causing widespread restlessness and discontent.

The tense situation threatens to become a full-blown disaster when Lord Robert’s wife, Amy, is found dead at the bottom of a staircase. Rumours fly through court suggesting Lord Robert killed her so he could marry the queen.

He is banished from court, but the queen is sure he is innocent. She sends her ladies-in-waiting, Catrin Surovell and Lucy Howard to the scene of Amy’s death, Cumnor Place, to discover as much as they can about what really happened.

Once there, Catrin and Lucy find evidence that the death was no accident, and discover that a stranger was with Lady Amy on the day she died.

And as Catrin investigates further, she finds a secret cache of dangerous documents in Amy’s handwriting, suggesting that she was part of a conspiracy against the crown.

But to find out who was responsible for Lady Amy’s death, Catrin will have to put her own life in danger…

Who was the stranger with Amy Dudley on the day of her murder? Did he cause her untimely death?

And can Catrin escape this dangerous web of secrets and betrayal?

Order Now
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial