Leo Heaps was born in Winnipeg Canada in 1922, and lived his life in California, England and finally in Toronto. His early years were in the shadow of his father, a famous Parliamentarian, followed by his service in the British 1st Airborne during WW2, where he was awarded the Military Cross.

His post-war exploits took him to the war of Independence in Israel, where he trained members of the Israeli army, and finally to the Hungarian revolution where he he worked with the International Rescue Committee.

In civilian life, he had an unbridled passion for adventure, fine artwork. and writing, all of which played important roles in his various published works. An accomplished ocean sailor and tennis player he always made time for these two pursuits, while still attending obscure auctions, where he uncovered several rare works of art.

His various exploits produced life-long relationships with a fascinating array of colleagues from all walks of life, many of them becoming the basis for characters in some of his published works.

Leo Heaps died in 1995.

Operation Morning Light: Terror in Our Skies, The True Story of Cosmos 954

Operation Morning Light: Terror in Our Skies, The True Story of Cosmos 954

Author:
Genre: History

A riveting history of a Space Age disaster that left the Canadian wilderness polluted by Soviet radioactive waste. Viewers of Chernobyl or fans of David Wallace-Wells and Mike Berners-Lee will find this a fascinating work.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Hugh Hambleton, Spy: Thirty Years with the KGB

Hugh Hambleton, Spy: Thirty Years with the KGB

Author:
Genre: History

A gripping true story of espionage and betrayal through the height of the Cold War. Perfect for readers of Ben MacIntyre, Andrew Lownie and David E. Hoffman.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Grey Goose of Arnhem

The Grey Goose of Arnhem

Author:
Genres: Bargain Books, History

An account of heroism and courage in one of the Allies’ biggest military catastrophes of the Second World War. Ideal for readers of James Holland, Anthony Beevor and Cornelius Ryan.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Log of the Centurion

Log of the Centurion

Author:
Genre: History

Fascinated by the expeditions of Sir Francis Drake and Captain James Cook?

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial