Sapere Books are proud to be sponsoring the Crime Writers’ Association’s Historical Dagger Award, which is for the best historical crime novel set in any period at least 50 years prior to the year in which the prize is presented.

This year’s judges were Janet Laurence, the author of four cookery books and a series of articles on historical cookery; Angela May Rippon CBE, a television journalist, newsreader, writer and presenter; and Professor Edward James, Emeritus Professor of Medieval History at University College Dublin.

The 2021 longlist has now been announced. Many congratulations to the following authors and publishers:

Justice for Athena by J M Alvey, Canelo Digital Publishing Limited

Snow by John Banville, Faber

Midnight at Malabar House by Vaseem Khan, Hodder & Stoughton

Riviera Gold by Laurie R King, Allison & Busby

The Unwanted Dead by Chris Lloyd, Orion Fiction, The Orion Publishing Group

Execution by S J Parris, HarperFiction, HarperCollins

The Night of Shooting Stars by Ben Pastor, Bitter Lemon Press

The City Under Siege by Michael Russell, Constable, Little, Brown Book Group

Skelton’s Guide to Domestic Poisons by David S. Stafford, Allison & Busby

Chaos by A D Swanston, Bantam Press, Transworld

The Dead of Winter by Nicola Upson, Faber

The Mimosa Tree Mystery by Ovidia Yu, Constable, Little, Brown Book Group

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial