Sapere Books are proud to be sponsoring the Crime Writers’ Association’s Historical Dagger Award, which is for the best historical crime novel set in any period at least 50 years prior to the year in which the prize is presented.

This year’s judges were Janet Laurence, the author of four cookery books and a series of articles on historical cookery; Angela May Rippon CBE, a television journalist, newsreader, writer and presenter; Professor Edward James, Emeritus Professor of Medieval History at University College Dublin; and Andre Paine, former editor of Crime Scene magazine.

The 2020 longlist has now been announced. Congratulations to the following authors and publishers:

THE MAN THAT GOT AWAY by Lynne Truss, Raven Books

THE KING’S EVIL by Andrew Taylor, Harper Collins

THE BEAR PIT by SG MacLean, Quercus Fiction

THE ANARCHISTS’ CLUB by Alex Reeve, Raven Books

METROPOLIS by Philip Kerr, Quercus Fiction


THE SERPENT’S MARK by SW Perry, Corvus

IN TWO MINDS by Alis Hawkins, The Dome Press

LIBERATION SQUARE by Gareth Rubin, Michael Joseph

THE BONE FIRE by SD Sykes, Hodder & Stoughton

SORRY FOR THE DEAD by Nicola Upson, Faber & Faber

DEATH IN THE EAST by Abir Mukherjee, Harvill Secker

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial