The Warsaw Uprising

The Warsaw Uprising

Author:
Genres: History, Recent

An engrossing history of the largest resistance movement in the Second World War.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Lifeboat Heroes: Outstanding RNLI Rescues from Three Centuries

Lifeboat Heroes: Outstanding RNLI Rescues from Three Centuries

An engrossing history of the RNLI and how for two hundred years it has been saving lives along the coasts of Britain and Ireland.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Hastings to Culloden: Battles of Britain

Hastings to Culloden: Battles of Britain

Author:
Genres: Bargain Books, History

A classic, in-depth study of over twenty of the most important battles to have taken place on British soil.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Great American Rascal: The Turbulent Life of Aaron Burr

The Great American Rascal: The Turbulent Life of Aaron Burr

On July 11th, 1804, Aaron Burr faced and killed Alexander Hamilton in a duel.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Dardanelles: A Midshipman’s Diary, 1915-16

Dardanelles: A Midshipman’s Diary, 1915-16

This young naval officer’s diary provides a unique perspective on the Gallipoli catastrophe in World War One.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Anne Boleyn

Anne Boleyn

‘A very readable account of all the strands in the complicated tapestry of politics, religion, and that very uncertain quality, the King’s love’ The Times

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Road to Station X: From Debutante Ball to Fighter-Plane Factory to Bletchley Park, a Memoir of One Woman’s Journey Through World War Two

The Road to Station X: From Debutante Ball to Fighter-Plane Factory to Bletchley Park, a Memoir of One Woman’s Journey Through World War Two

An engrossing account of working in the top-secret world of Bletchley Park during World War Two. Perfect for fans of Sinclair McKay, Tessa Dunlop and Andrew Hodges.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Founding Fathers: Puritans in England and America

Founding Fathers: Puritans in England and America

Author:
Genres: Bargain Books, History

A fascinating history of the Puritans from their emergence to their decline.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
617 Squadron: The Dambusters at War

617 Squadron: The Dambusters at War

Author:
Genre: History

An eye-opening history of the famous 617 Squadron and its pilots and crews by a man who flew alongside them. A perfect book for fans of Max Hastings, John Nichol and Patrick Bishop.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Irregular Regular (The Extraordinary Life of Colonel David Smiley #3)

Irregular Regular (The Extraordinary Life of Colonel David Smiley #3)

Author:
Series: David Smiley, Book 3
Genre: History

The final instalment of Colonel David Smiley’s fascinating autobiographical trilogy.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Loot!: The Heritage of Plunder

Loot!: The Heritage of Plunder

Author:
Genre: History

An illuminating history of artefacts and the questions of ownership that surround them. This should be essential reading for readers of Robert M. Edsel, Noah Charney and Alice Proctor.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Arctic Rescue: A Memoir of the Tragic Sinking of HMS Glorious

Arctic Rescue: A Memoir of the Tragic Sinking of HMS Glorious

Author:
Genre: History

A moving World War II memoir that uncovers a forgotten naval catastrophe. Ideal for readers of Evan Mawdsley, Max Hastings and Iain Ballantyne.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Arabian Assignment (The Extraordinary Life of Colonel David Smiley #2)

Arabian Assignment (The Extraordinary Life of Colonel David Smiley #2)

Author:
Series: David Smiley
Genre: History

This remarkable memoir provides fascinating insight into two conflicts that arose in southern Arabia in the decades following the Second World War. It should be essential reading for anyone who enjoys the work of Dan Mills, Mark Urban and Adam Jowett

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Emperor Charlemagne

The Emperor Charlemagne

Author:
Genre: History

An authoritative biography of the greatest ruler of the medieval period.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Albanian Assignment  (The Extraordinary Life of Colonel David Smiley #1)1)

Albanian Assignment (The Extraordinary Life of Colonel David Smiley #1)1)

Author:
Series: David Smiley
Genre: History

Albanian Assignment is one of the finest special forces memoirs to come out of the Second World War. Readers of Damien Lewis, Ben Macintyre and Patrick Leigh Fermor will be enthralled by this book.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Bad Popes

The Bad Popes

Author:
Genre: History

A dramatic account of some of the most notorious figures of medieval and Renaissance history who ruled from the Eternal City. Sure to grip readers of John Julius Norwich, Tom Holland and Peter Ackroyd.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Cover of Darkness: The Memoir of a World War Two Night-Fighter

Cover of Darkness: The Memoir of a World War Two Night-Fighter

Author:
Genre: History

A pilot’s captivating autobiography that traces the development of night-flying from the early days of the Battle of Britain to the final triumph over Germany.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Operation Morning Light: Terror in Our Skies, The True Story of Cosmos 954

Operation Morning Light: Terror in Our Skies, The True Story of Cosmos 954

Author:
Genre: History

A riveting history of a Space Age disaster that left the Canadian wilderness polluted by Soviet radioactive waste. Viewers of Chernobyl or fans of David Wallace-Wells and Mike Berners-Lee will find this a fascinating work.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Long Road Home

The Long Road Home

Author:
Genre: History

The honest account of one prisoner-of-war’s struggle to survive through five years of Nazi imprisonment. An essential book for readers of Horace Greasley, Alistair Urquhart and Heather Morris.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Suicide Battalion

The Suicide Battalion

Author:
Genre: History

A staggering history of one of the First World War’s most daring military units. An essential book for readers of Peter Hart, Tim Cook and Nick Lloyd.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Hugh Hambleton, Spy: Thirty Years with the KGB

Hugh Hambleton, Spy: Thirty Years with the KGB

Author:
Genre: History

A gripping true story of espionage and betrayal through the height of the Cold War. Perfect for readers of Ben MacIntyre, Andrew Lownie and David E. Hoffman.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Age of Plunder: The England of Henry VIII, 1500-47

The Age of Plunder: The England of Henry VIII, 1500-47

Author:
Genre: History

A thought-provoking social and economic of Henry VIII's reign. Ideal for readers of Ian Mortimer, Christopher Hill and E. P. Thompson.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
The Grey Goose of Arnhem

The Grey Goose of Arnhem

Author:
Genre: History

An account of heroism and courage in one of the Allies’ biggest military catastrophes of the Second World War. Ideal for readers of James Holland, Anthony Beevor and Cornelius Ryan.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Gas! The Battle for Ypres,1915

Gas! The Battle for Ypres,1915

Author:
Genre: History

A fascinating World War One history that charts the first use of chemical weapons in modern warfare. Perfect for readers of Max Hastings, Martin Middlebrook and Tim Cook.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Log of the Centurion

Log of the Centurion

Author:
Genre: History

Fascinated by the expeditions of Sir Francis Drake and Captain James Cook?

More info →
Buy from Alibris
A House For Spies: SIS Operations into Occupied France from a Sussex Farmhouse

A House For Spies: SIS Operations into Occupied France from a Sussex Farmhouse

Author:
Genre: History

An unforgettable history of French intelligence agents and courageous British pilots who risked everything in the fight against Hitler! Perfect for fans of Ben Macintyre, Giles Milton and Sinclair McKay.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Death and Destruction on the Thames in London

Death and Destruction on the Thames in London

A deadly history of the city of London. Perfect for fans of true crime, British politics, and European history.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Famous Assassinations

Famous Assassinations

Author:
Genre: History
Tags: biography, non-fiction

A bloody history of the rich and famous. Perfect for fans of true crime, revolutionary history, and biographies of world leaders.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Six Battles for India: Anglo-Sikh Wars, 1845-46 and 1848-49

Six Battles for India: Anglo-Sikh Wars, 1845-46 and 1848-49

Genre: History

George Bruce’s remarkable book uncovers the history of the two Anglo-Sikh Wars that erupted in India in the 1840s. Perfect for fans of William Dalrymple, Lawrence James and Richard Holmes.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Sylvia Pankhurst: The Rebellious Suffragette

Sylvia Pankhurst: The Rebellious Suffragette

Sylvia Pankhurst’s colourful, maverick life is narrated in this fascinating political, historical and cultural biography by Shirley Harrison, drawing on Sylvia’s journals, letters, writings, and paintings. It includes a Foreword by her son, Richard Pankhurst.

More info →
Buy from Alibris
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial